Have You Been Charged with DUI in Cobb County But Live in Another State?
A DUI offense in Georgia can carry very significant consequences, Some of the penalties may include jail time, fines, license suspension, or the installation of an ignition interlock device to prevent you from driving if alcohol is detected on your breath. Depending on the circumstances, your life could change forever in an instant, especially if you live outside of Georgia, but are charged with DUI. An experienced Cobb County DUI lawyer can uncover ways to lessen, or in some cases, eliminate the charges entirely, reducing the impact on your future. Call us now for a free no-obligation case evaluation.
Out of State Driver Charged with DUI in Cobb County
Over the years, different states have changed their laws to look more and more similar when it comes to drunk driving offenses. While each state is a little different, they all take drunk driving very seriously, and penalties for an out of state driver convicted for driving under the influence in Georgia will be just as severe. This can include time in jail, hefty fines and fees, and court ordered community service. That doesn't take into account a rise in insurance premiums that a driver will face after a DUI, costing them hundreds or thousands of dollars.
The Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS), will automatically suspend a driver's privilege to drive in Georgia after 30 days of a DUI arrest. This is an administrative process, known as ALS license suspension. However, that 30 day timeline may be misleading, because a driver only has thirty (30) days to fight the automatic suspension. If a request for an ALS hearing is not made within 30 days, the license suspension is automatic. This is separate from the criminal DUI process. The good news is that an experienced, qualified Cobb County DUI defense lawyer can file for an ALS hearing, represent you at the administrative hearing without you having to appear, all in addition to defending you against the criminal charges.
Don't make the mistake of thinking a Georgia administrative hearing won't have repercussions on you license to drive issued by your home state. States share adverse administrative actions resulting from a DUI, and in many cases, your home state will suspend your own driver's license based on Georgia's administrative finding. That means you may have to reinstate driving privileges in Georgia before your driver's license suspension will be lifted. Contact a DUI Attorney in Cobb County so your driver's license won't get suspended, and you'll be able to keep your driving privileges.
Do I Have to Show Up for Court in Cobb County if I am a Resident of Another State?
If you are arrested for a DUI in Georgia, the court will expect you to show up on the date of your summons or hearing. This may mean hours of driving or flying, in addition to the costs, just to fight your charges. Traveling back and forth gets expensive, and time consuming. This is another reason a DUI defense lawyer may be your best bet to have your criminal charges taken care of, with as little inconvenience to you as possible. In many cases, you will not have to return to Georgia at all, and your Cobb County DUI Lawyer will be able to defend your case on your behalf.
Contact Our Cobb County DUI Attorneys Now if You Have Been Charged with DUI in Georgia But Do Not Live in Georgia
A DUI in Georgia can mean serious consequences, no matter what state issued your license to drive. The Cobb County DUI Attorneys at Lawson and Berry understand what a DUI conviction can mean to your future, including your right to drive, your livelihood, and your freedom. Just because you live out of state does not mean you have to accept a guilty plea. Let us fight for you! Call our office anytime day or night, and we will fight to get your charges reduced or dropped.