Reckless Driving in Cobb County GA
We hear from clients all the time who are charged with DUI who immediately ask us if they can get it reduced to reckless driving. While this can be a good option for DUI charges, it is not always the best one. Before making any decisions, it is critical that you speak with an experienced DUI Attorney in Cobb County. Our lawyers have over 25 years of DUI experience and know how to get great results for your case.
What is Reckless Driving in Cobb County GA?
Reckless driving is a very interesting charge because there is no clear standard as to what it is. It can vary from officer to officer. Georgia law O.C.G.A. §40-6-350 states that reckless driving is when any person drives a vehicle in reckless disregard for the safety of others. Based on the statute, the standard is reckless disregard. This does not mean that there has to be an accident for reckless driving to occur. While there is no set definition, some behaviors that courts have concluded to be reckless driving include:
- Excessive speeding
- Weaving in and out of lanes
- Failing to yield at right of ways
- Passing other cars on a double yellow line
- Excessive tailgating
- Running lights
- Driving without headlights or brake lights
- Driving too fast for conditions
- Driving under the influence (DUI)
As you can see, some of these offenses are traffic violations all on their own, but they can also be the basis for a reckless driving charge. Our Georgia Reckless Driving Attorneys understand the flaws in the law and know how to make it work in your favor. They have decades of experience defending Georgia drivers and know how to fight for your rights!
Should I Get My DUI Charge Reduced to Reckless Driving?
We know that people think having their DUI charge reduced to reckless driving is a win, and in a lot of cases, it is a win! However, there are situations where it may not be the best option for you because our Cobb County DUI Lawyers think your case has a good chance of getting dismissed! Don't plead guilty to reckless driving before exploring all of your options.
Having a DUI charge reduced to reckless driving generally occurs in situations where the State knows a crime occurred but they are unable to prove it was the result of being under the influence. In that situation, having a DUI reduced to reckless driving helps the driver avoid a license suspension and having a DUI on their permanent record.
What Happens if I am Convicted of Reckless Driving in Georgia?
Reckless driving is a misdemeanor charge in Georgia. This means it will come with a fine up to $1,000, up to 12 months in jail, and possibly community service, completion of a drug and alcohol valuation, or other conditions the judge imposes. As stated previously, it will result in 4 points being added to the driver's license. For drivers under 21, their license will be automatically suspended.
Reckless Driving Defenses in Georgia
There are always defenses our Cobb County reckless driving attorneys can use in your case. Because the statute is vague, we understand how to make the law work in your favor. What may have been reckless behavior to one officer may not have been reckless in another officer's eyes. Police officers, lawyers, judges, and juries all have different options as to what driving with a reckless disregard for the safety of others means. We know how to make this work for you!
Some people were charged with reckless driving after being stopped at a roadblock or not seen driving at all. We know how to use this to our advantage! We have represented hundreds of people charged with reckless driving in Cobb County successfully. Let us help you today!
Contact Our Cobb County DUI Attorneys Today
Our Cobb County GA DUI Lawyers are here to give you the best representation for your case. We care about your rights and your future and want to make sure both are protected. We are dedicated to you and keep our office open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to ensure we meet your needs. Call now for a free, no-obligation case evaluation.