DUI Penalties

(404) 816-4440

Cobb County DUI Penalties

DUI penalties can have long-lasting consequences. Whether this is your first DUI charge or your fourth, we urge you to contact our Cobb County DUI Lawyers today. With penalties such as license suspension, jail time, drug and alcohol counseling, and probation, it is in your best interest to reach out to an experienced DUI Attorney in Cobb County as soon as possible after arrest.

At Lawson and Berry, our attorneys have over 25 years of experience in defending Georgia drivers from DUI charges. They have dedicated their lives to helping drivers mitigate the penalties they will face in order to get back to their lives. If you or a loved one have been charged with DUI in Cobb County, contact our office now.

What Are the Penalties for a DUI Conviction in Cobb County?

Cobb County DUI Penalties are directly tied to the number of the offense. A first DUI will have different penalties than a second DUI and so forth.

1st DUI Penalties in Cobb County:

  • 12 months of probation
  • Up to $1,000 in fines
  • Between 1-10 days in jail
  • Suspension of driver's license
  • At least 40 hours of community service
  • Completion of a DUI Risk Reduction School
  • Attendance of a MADD (Mothers Against Drunk Driving) Victim Impact Panel

2nd DUI Penalties in Cobb County

  • Jail time between 90 days and 12 months with the possibility of some of it being done through probation
  • Fines between $600 and $1000, not including court costs
  • 240 hours of community service
  • Completed of DUI Risk Reduction School
  • Driver's license suspension
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device
  • Substance abuse counseling

3rd DUI Penalties in Cobb County

  • Jail time between 120 days to 12 months
  • 240 hours of community service
  • Between $1000 and $5000 in fines, plus court costs and surcharges
  • DUI School
  • Five years of driver's license suspension (with an interlock permit available after two years)
  • License plate surrender
  • Receive Habitual Violator Status
  • Publication of photo in the accused's home county

4th and subsequent DUI Penalties

  • Felony convictions, which can impact getting a job, obtaining housing, or credit)
  • Between 1-5 years in prison
  • Suspended driver's license for 10 years
  • $1000-$5000 in fines
  • 480 hours of community service
  • DUI school
  • License pate surrender
  • Potential DUI Court
  • Mandatory alcohol and drug abuse counseling
  • Photo publication in your home county

It is critical to remember that these penalties only apply if you are convicted of DUI! An arrest does not mean you will be automatically convicted. There are numerous DUI defenses our Cobb County DUI Lawyers will use reduce the charges against you.

Contact Us Today

We understand that a DUI charge can be overwhelming and confusing. That is why our office is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to take your call. We believe that you shouldn't have to wait when you have a question with your case and that is why we are always available to our clients. Call now and see how we can reduce the penalties you will face for your Cobb County DUI charge. 

You Only Have 30 Days To Save Your Drivers License

Our attorneys will pick up the phone at any time. Call our office now to avoid automatic suspension of your drivers license.

CALL US 24/7

Most Reviewed Law Office in Georgia

We invest 100% of our time, energy and passion into every case to achieve the best results possible.


Two Decades of Experience

Find out why choosing a team with experience can make all the difference in your DUI case.


We've Helped Nearly 5,000 People

Our team is committed to delivering our clients the results that they need after a DUI arrest.